Professional Guides
» Property Manager
Property Manager's resources available through The Business Library.
Property / facilities management professions encompass multiple disciplines due to their building operational oversight responsibilities. Because MTC Libraries understands the breadth of these informational needs, legislative and technical resource materials are available on issues of major importance to these professionals.
The LAD Libraries provides property / facility managers with easy access to all of this and much, much more - to help with management of their day-to-day work day information needs.
With group subscriptions to The Business Library these resources can be shared among the management and administrative staffs or home office and the field. Multiple locations and various organizational units can be informed and projects and priorities can be coordinated through the use of other LAD Libraries, Group Gateways, tools from the rmTools Toolshed and vendors from rmDirectories, and other LAD Directories
Disasters: Business Continuity
Business continuity post-disaster is critical to every enterprise. This section provides information regarding planning for disasters and management guidance as to how to mitigate, reduce the impact and recover from such events.
Disasters: Emergency Plans
Access checklists, guides, and information materials related to evacuations, first aid, environmental health and more. Review the full text of emergency response plans to give you ideas for creating your own. Determine what government services and relief agencies are available to provide assistance in the event of a disaster.
Disasters: Natural
Locate earthquake, flood and weather maps. Access bulletins, fact sheets and guides on natural disaster planning. The weather alert section provides you with the latest storm information around the world.
Discussion Groups
Networking is one of the best methods to increase your influence and knowledge, keep abreast of current issues, obtain assistance with difficult problems, etc. Even if you are not an active participant, you can benefit from internet discussion groups by reviewing discussion group archives (which can be quite enlightening..)
Hazards: Air
A wide range of air hazard information - dusts, indoor air, confined spaces, air quality, TLV, respirators, and ventilation.
Hazards: Chemicals
Various chemical hazard control resources - technical resources, databases related to chemical environmental/safety concerns, OSHA technical resources, lab safety, etc.
Hazards: Fire
Fire hazard safety information regarding arson, evacuations, fire safety and more.
Hazards: Food & Water
Food & water hazard control information - EPA & FDA regulations, food safety & inspections, HACCP, and environmental issues.
Hazards: Radiation
Radiation hazard control topics: radon, EMF, lasers, medical radiology, US federal nuclear regulations and more.
Insurance: Claims Management
Claim management guidelines, such as structured settlements, work-relatedness of diseases, disability costs, reserving guidelines, case law.
Insurance: Coverages
Information on all the insurance coverage property managers need.
Insurance: Environmental
Environmental issues in insurance - chemicals, EPA regulations & manuals.
Insurance: Liability
All types of liability insurance information from Real estate liability to slip & fall exposures.
Management: Risk
Risk management topics: fleet, managed care, property, safety, security and workers comp.
Management: Safety
Fire prevention, facilities management, building accessibility, etc. Safety management topics: chemicals, disaster, ergonomics, fleet, OSHA, property, regulations, safety and security.
Management: Security
Facility physical and electronic controls, shrinkage in retail. Tactics, techniques, procedures for creating a security access-control system. Crime-free workplace, corporate security, business protection from burglary.
Management: Security
Facility physical and electronic controls, shrinkage in retail. Tactics, techniques, procedures for creating a security access-control system. Crime-free workplace, corporate security, business protection from burglary.
News: Alerts
National Weather Service warnings, seismic events and more. Real-time traffic conditions, road construction, weather for motorists.
News: Government Affairs
Updates from the EPA, DOT, DOL, OSHA and MSHA.
News: Headlines
Today's business news from a large variety of sources. Periodicals, magazines, newsletters, journals, brochures, books, reports, etc.
Research: Companies
Conduct internet research on companies including your competition. Internet directories for addresses, telephone numbers, email addresses, websites.
Research: Databases
Reference manuals for security program operations. Access to statistical databases from US government, insurance industry, etc.
Samples: Forms & Checklists
Fire safety inspection, protection and suppression checklists, safety department forms, and numerous disaster and emergency preparedness checklists.
Samples: Policies & Programs
Full text policies and programs from a large range of topics: emergency plans, hr policies, safety programs, ergonomics programs, business plans and more.
Software & Calculators
Take advantage of one of the cost-saving opportunities presented by the internet - the ability to download software and utilize online calculators useful for risk management and safety management.
US Laws & Regs
Full text of US federal laws and regulations.
